September 29, 2011
Hard rock innovators MAYLENE and the SONS of DISASTER release their long awaited new album Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV today via Ferret Music. Produced by Brian Virtue (Jane’s Addiction, Deftones, Audioslave), the LP shines a spotlight on the celebrated band’s sleek songcraft, virtuosic prowess and depth of musical identity. The primal-scream therapy of underground star frontman Dallas Taylor takes on a much more multidimensional sense of atmosphere and texture on the record, finding the perfect balance of heavy-meets-euphoric while the band’s strong, fluid ROCK features big riffs, shifting tempos and a spot-on sense of balance. The new saga of MAYLENE and the SONS of DISASTER’s compelling concept R’N’R has been called “catchy, southern-infused hard rock” by MetalSucks and the band’s “most mature and unadulterated album” by Prefix.

MAYLENE and the SONS of DISASTER have partnered with Revolver to bring fans an inside look at the lyrical meaning behind each of the album’s dozen tracks. To check out the special videos, visit HERE.

Additionally, MAYLENE and Absolute Punk have teamed to present a special two-part look at the making of Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV. Check out part one HERE.

Revolver also premiered the new MAYLENEtrack “In Dead We Dream” and talked with MATSOD vocalist Dallas Taylor. Check out “In Dead We Dream” now at this location.

MAYLENE and the SONS of DISASTER have also just announced fall U.S. tour dates with Thursday. The just-released tour dates are as follows:

November 23 New York, NY Irving Plaza
November 25 Toronto, ON Opera House
November 26 Pittsburgh, PA Altar Bar
November 27 Milwaukee, WI Turner Hall
November 28 Cleveland Heights, OH Grog Shop
November 30 Atlanta, GA The Loft
December 1 Cincinnati, OH 20th Century Theatre
December 2 Chicago, IL Bottom Lounge
December 3 Pontiac, MI The Eagle Theater
December 4 Rochester, NY Montage Music Hall

“As humans, we play things so safe and everything “makes sense” or is “figured out” and is how it’s supposed to be,” said Taylor. “I hope it will make people question their lives and how they do things, and make people realize what they have. It is definitely a new band now with a new drive. This is the most serious thing we’ve ever done and the most grown-up record I’ve ever made in my life. I think it will surprise a lot of people who were into Maylene before. It is a very dark record, but it’s the most truthful and heartfelt thing I have done in my life.”

The striking cover art for Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV was designed by Forefathers Group (Children of Bodom, In Flames, Between the Buried and Me). On the record, the band continues its focused conceptual and lyrical bent which plots MAYLENE as renegade outlaws from a 1920’s gangster / prohibition era real-life crime family. The record’s gritty musical shootouts are filled with intricate guitar riffing and whiskey drenched grooves, while the lyrics take your imagination back to a time when the exploits of gangs of criminals gripped the American people and press.

The track listing for Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV is as follows:

1.) In Dead We Dream
2.) Save Me
3.) Faith Healer (Bring Me Down)
4.) Open Your Eyes
5.) Killing Me Slow
6.) Taking on Water
7.) Fate Games
8.) Come for You
9.) Never Enough
10.) Cat’s Walk
11.) Drought of ’85
12.) Off to the Laughing Place

MAYLENE and the SONS of DISASTER features Dallas Taylor (vocals), Chad Huff (guitar), Jake Duncan (guitar / vocals) and Brad Lehmann (bass).

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.