Feature, News

Polyvinyl Records Releases Japan Benefit Compilation‏

July 13, 2011
In early March, Japan suffered one of the largest earthquakes in recorded history, a tsunami, which devastated its northern coast, and a nuclear disaster the scope of which is not yet fully understood.
Soon after the news broke, Polyvinyl reached out to its family of artists — and friends of that family — to put together a compilation to raise money for the victims of this tragedy.
Japan 3.11.11 spans 23 tracks and includes b-sides, rarities, live performances, covers and remixes from artists such as of Montreal, Deerhoof, David Bazan, Xiu Xiu, Love Is All, Casiokids, Starfucker, Efterklang, Owen and many, many more.
Over the course of 80+ minutes, the album features a wide spectrum of music: from St. Vincent‘s remix of “Sex Karma” (a stand out track from of Montreal’s latest full-length False Priest) to a live cover of “Video Killed the Radio Star” by gifted Japanese songwriter Shugo Tokumaru. Also included are a variety of hard-to-find tracks, including a previously unreleased song from experimental post-rock outfit Pele (“Pequod”) and an outtake from Starfucker‘s new album Reptilians (“The Wisdom of Insecurity”).
The compilation also includes a few local Champaign, San Francisco, and Tulsa bands who will be organizing benefit shows in their areas to raise additional funds for those affected by the earthquake and tsunami.
All profits from sales of this benefit album will be donated to the American Red Cross to support the International Red Cross in their ongoing relief efforts in Japan.
The album is available digitally now. A limited edition 180-gram red vinyl version (2000 copies) will be released on September 27, 2011. The vinyl is available for pre-order now.
Track List
1. Deerhoof – Giga Dance (Live)
2. Love Is All – Pappas Tant
3. Efterklang – Alike (Opiate Remix)
4. Birthmark – Big Man
5. Kit – Brass Palms
6. Shugo Tokumaru – Video Killed The Radio Star
7. Asobi Seksu – Vicious Bears
8. Caithlin De Marrais – Sorry
9. Alright – Moving
10. Owen – Guest List
11. Pele – Pequod
12. Take Care – Living Forever
13. toe – Ordinary Day
14. Xiu Xiu – Hyunhye’s Theme (acoustic)
15. David Bazan – American Flags
16. XBXRX – want
17. Midstress – Too Many Shoes Not Enough Feet
18. Starfucker – The Wisdom of Insecurity
19. of Montreal – Sex Karma (St. Vincent Remix)
20. Casiokids – London Zoo
21. Lizard Police – Same Socks
22. Joan of Arc – Steady (Demo)
23. Common Loon – A Moment in Energy Transfers
Japan 3.11.11: A Benefit Album by Polyvinyl Records

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.