Having so far enjoyed a monumental year, with a sold out world tour and the release of the superb and critically acclaimed 7th studio album, Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will, Mogwai are ready to embark upon another chapter. The band are set to release their Earth Division EP, which carries 4 brand new tracks, highlighting a creative departure from the band’s trademark cinematic mantra of pulverizing, scorched guitar riffage, into a more recontextualised domain of hazy electronic distortion, accompanied by spiky wafts of violins, violas, cellos and double bass and jagged keys.

Earth Division discretely demonstrates another side of Mogwai’s stratospheric level of brilliance with its ever-rotating, hypnotic soundtracks that drift dreamy into force, while absorbing into the paranormal.

The EP is a collaboration of barded guitar distortion and haunting piano, which might offer the listener something different, but it still carries the band’s hallmarks and will be available on September 13 in North America via Sub Pop Records and on September 12 via their own label, Rock Action, in Europe.

Earth Division EP tracklisting, which will be available on CD, 12″ vinyl and digitally:

1. Get to France.
2. Hound of Winter.
3. Drunk and Crazy.
4. Does This Always Happen?

Mogwai are: Dominic Aitchison, Stuart Braithwaite, Martin Bulloch, Barry Burns and John Cummings.

Mogwai are headlining at this month’s iTunes Festival at the Roundhouse, London on July 23 and they will also be appearing at the End Of The Road Festival on September 3, which sold out in record time.

They are also returning to the US for a few shows in the beginning of September. Click here for a full list of tour dates.

Click here for more information on Mogwai.