Round the Corner Releases.

January 29, 2011
In the past 2 days, 2 reverential bands have announced details of their 2011 releases…
Firstly the ridiculously anticipated forthcoming release from British upbeat fresh electronic/euphoric band Friendly Fires have finally given away some more details surrounding their second album. The band have been hiding away in the studio in order to create their second effort following their 08 debut release. The album, it has been announced is titled “Pala”. The name being inspired by a novel written by the English author Aldous Huxley. Pala has been planned for a spring release.
 Both Paul Epworth and Andrew Weatherall were used for the sessions, however the final track listing has yet to be decided.
 Singer and Hip Shaker Ed MacFarlane revealed “I just kept working, all day and into the night, After three weeks I was getting cabin fever but I had to focus, because the songs needed to get written“. 
 He also confirmed that Holy Ghost’s Alex Frankel appears on the record with other collaborations rumoured.
 The band have in addition just confirmed they will be playing the Great Escape festival in Brighton this summer, the first of what I hope is a string of live dates across the UK.
 Get happy and check out the previous fire moves

 Secondly, Columbia Records and Favorite Gentlemen Recordings are extremely excited to announce the release of Manchester Orchestra’s third record on May 10, 2011. Entitled, Simple Math, Dan Hannon, who produced the band’s first record and co-produced the second, was once again at the helm for Simple Math.
 Simple Math is a concept record. It’s a story about a 23-year old who questions everything from marriage to love to religion to sex. It’s chock full of monster riffs, vigorous string arrangements, deep hooks and has miles of melodies that encase a compelling coming-of-age story told in the first person, intimately written and sung by Hull.
“This record is two dueling conversations between me and my wife, and me and my God,” says Hull. “Sometimes even for myself, it’s difficult to decipher which one I’m actually talking to. Everything I’ve written in the past has been about those things. This album is the most realized form of my questioning.”
Manchester Orchestra was formed in 2004 when Hull was 16. The band includes lifelong friends Jonathan Corley on bass, keyboardist Chris Freeman, guitarist Robert McDowell and drummer Tim Very.

 Simple Math takes Manchester Orchestra to the next level. It is certain to be one of the landmark releases of 2011.
Simple Math Track Listing
1. Deer
2. Mighty
3. Pensacola
4. April Fool
5. Pale Black Eye
6. Virgin
7. Simple Math
8. Leave It Alone
9. Apprehension
10. Leaky Breaks

 Check out the acoustic performance of Simple Math here.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.