News

La Dispute Partners with 826michigan and Releases "Conversations" [News]

April 4, 2012

Having just begun their 2012 US tour last week, Grand-rapids band La Dispute are pleased to announce they have partnered with 826michigan, a non-profit organization dedicated to helping kids with writing and self-expression. To support this, the band will be selling 150 limited edition packets at their shows, including “Conversations,” rare photos, a poster, postcards, and other great things. “Conversations” is a lengthy interview with La Dispute’s lead-singer Jordan Dreyer, analyzing and elaborating upon the stories and themes present in the band’s 2011 album Wildlife.

826michigan is a volunteer-driven non-profit writing and tutoring center that offers after-school tutoring, creative writing workshops, publishing opportunities, field trips, and in-class support to local schools, all free of charge. It is part of the 826 National network founded by writer Dave Eggers, with locations in Ann Arbor, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, Seattle and Washington, D.C.

The band are currently on tour in North America, making a run along the West Coast in San Francisco and shows in Southern California this week, before heading back to the East Coast for shows in Philadelphia and New York City.

The band’s shows have already been selling out weeks ahead of time, including this week’s show in Anaheim at Chain Reaction and an upcoming show at New York’s Bowery Ballroom. Following the band’s tour ending on May 7 in their hometown of Grand Rapids, the band will take a little time off from touring before heading overseas in June and playing some of Europe’s premier festivals, and will be doing other dates with Hot Water Music.

La Dispute is touring to support their sophomore album, Wildlife, released on No Sleep Records last October, which debuted at 135 on the Billboard Top 200.

The follow-up to their 2008 LP Somewhere at the Bottom of the River Between Vega and Altair, Wildlife is a nearly 60-minute musical examination of the twenty-something search for purpose; an exploration of the struggles that confront, damage, and redefine us inevitably in life through 14 tracks of new material. Set up as a collection of “short stories” complete with the author’s own notes and sectioned thematically by four monologues, Wildlife discusses the difficulties inherent in growing up by interweaving the author’s own ambiguous loss and struggle for meaning alongside the stories it compelled him to document. Recorded at both Drasik Studios in Chicago and StadiumRed in New York with Andrew Everding (from the band Thursday) and Joe Pedulla using no artificial reverb, La Dispute’s sophomore full length organically captures the sound of five friends committed to pushing their own creative boundaries while still retaining a desire to create honest and emotional music.

North American tour 2012

Tue April 3 Operhouse, Oakland CA
Wed April 4 Sub-Mission, San Francisco CA
Thu April 5 Chain Reaction, Anaheim CA
Fri April 6 Eagle Rock Center for the Arts, Los Angeles CA
Sat April 7 Rock City, Camarillo CA
Sun April 8 Che Cafe, San Diego CA
Mon April 9 The Underground, Phoenix AZ
Wed April 11 Pine Box, Midland TX
Thu April 12 Red 7, Austin TX
Fri April 13 Warehouse Live, Houston TX
Sat April 14 Rubbergloves, Dallas TX
Sun April 15 Conseratory, Oklahoma City OK
Mon April 16 Firebird, St Louis MO
Tue April 17 The End, Nashville TN
Wed April 18 Masquerade, Atlanta GA
Thu April 19 Orpheum, Tampa FL
Fri April 20 Talent Farm, Pembroke Pines FL
Sat April 21 The Pit, Jacksonville FL
Sun April 22 New Brookland, Columbia SC
Tue April 24 Local 506, Chapel Hill NC
Wed April 25 Kingdom, Richmond VA
Thu April 26 Otto Bar, Baltimore MD
Fri April 27 Lost Horizon, Syracuse NY
Sat April 28 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
Sun April 29 Bowery Ballroom, New York NY
Mon April 30 Middle East, Cambridge MA
Wed May 2 La Sala Rosa, Montreal QC
Thu May 3 Mod Club, Toronto ON
Fri May 4 Mohawk Place, Buffalo NY
Sat May 5 Magic Stick, Detroit MI
Sun May 6 Metro, Chicago IL
Mon May 7 Pyramid Scheme, Grand Rapids MI*

European Tour, Summer 2012

Wed June 13 Carroponte, Milan IT*
Fri June 15 – Sun June 17 Greenfield Festival, Interlaken SW
Sun June 17 Rockhouse, Salzberg AT*
Mon June 18 Arena, Vienna AT*
Tue June 19 Lucerna Music Bar, Prague CZ*
Thu June 21 Schlachthof, Wiesbaden DE* – Sold Out
Sat June 23 FZW, Dortmund DE*
Fri June 22 – Sun June 24 Hurricane Festival, Scheeßel, DE
Fri June 22 – Sun June 24 Southside Festival, Neuhausen ob Eck, DE

*with Hot Water Music


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.