News

Plants And Animals’ The End Of That Out Today, Band Premieres New Video [News]‏

February 29, 2012
Caroline Desilets (carodesilets.com)

Plants and Animals’ new album, The End of That, is out today, February 28, via Secret City Records, and to celebrate, the band is releasing a brand new video for the first single, “Lightshow,” which premiered at Paste today. The End of That is also streaming in its entirety all week long at Spinner. You can see the video streaming below-


The “Lightshow” video is a collaboration between producer Doug Karr and director Mitchell Hart who work on visual media together in New York. Hart explains the video as a commentary on contemporary media consumption: “There’s so much information coming at us at any given moment … as a result we’re moving further away from appreciating the specifics of any given piece of media.” Hart used the actual multi-track recordings to generate large data sets based on the audio files. Each track was analyzed through a series of code snippets and plug-ins to get what you see on screen. “A true combination of data visualization and cinematic production make this video unique.”

Plants and Animals have also added performances to their SXSW schedule and more North American tour dates through May. See the full list of dates below.

PLANTS AND ANIMALS’ TOUR DATES:

Thu. Mar. 8 – Ottawa, ON @ Ritual~
Fri. Mar. 9 – Quebec, QC @ Le Cercle~
Sat. Mar. 10 – Montreal, QC @ Le Cabaret du Mile End~
Thu. Mar. 15 – Austin, TX @ St. David’s Historic Sanctuary [Secret City/Opak official SXSW Showcase]^
Fr. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ Lovejoy’s (SXSW – The Midgetmen Party) – 3:45 PM
Sat. Mar. 17 – Austin, TX @ KEXP SXSW Day Stage at Austin Convention Center – 2pm
Sat. Mar. 17 – Austin, TX @ The Brew Exchange (SXSW Sea Now Party) – 4pm
Tue. Mar. 20 – Victoria, BC @ Lucky Bar*
Wed. Mar. 21 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre*
Thu. Mar. 22 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile*
Sat. Mar. 24 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios*
Tue. Mar. 27 – Edmonton, AB @ Starlite Room*
Wed. Mar. 28 – Calgary, AB @ Republik*
Thu. Mar. 29 – Saskatoon, SK @ Amigo’s*
Fri. Mar. 30 – Winnipeg, AB @ West End Cultural Centre*
Sat. Mar. 31 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry*
Wed. Apr. 4 – Boston, MA @ TT The Bear’s+
Thu. Apr. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie+
Fri. Apr. 6 – Washington, DC @ The Red Palace+
Sat. Apr. 7 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506+
Sun. Apr. 8 – Atlanta, GA @ 529+
Tue. Apr. 10 – Tampa, FL @ Crowbar+
Wed. Apr. 11 – Orlando, FL @ The Social+
Fri. Apr. 13 – Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree+
Sat. Apr. 14 – Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone Café+
Sun. Apr. 15 – Lexington, KY @ Cosmic Charlie’s+
Tue. Apr. 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Littlefield+
Wed. Apr. 18 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge+
Thu. Apr. 19 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
Fri, Apr. 20 – London, ON @ APK Live
Sat. Apr. 21 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
Fri. May 11 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s 
Sat. May 12 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency
Tue. May 15 – Denver, CO @ Hi Dive
Wed. May 16 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court 
Fri. May 18 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Sat. May 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ Satellite
Mon. May 21 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Wed. May 23 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Fri. May 25 – Austin, TX @ Lambert’s  
Sat. May 26 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s 
Sun. May 27 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Wed. May 30 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern


~with Thus:Owls
^with Patrick Watson, The Barr Brothers, Little Scream, Leif Vollebekk, Daniel Isaiah
*with Little Scream
+with This is The Kit






You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.